A Poet To His Beloved for tenor, flute, string quartet and piano Op.40 (1993) c.15'00"
poems by William Butler Yeats

I. A Poet To His Beloved
II. He Remembers Forgotten Beauty
III. He Hears The Cry Of The Sedge
IV. He Thinks Of His Past Greatness When A Part Of The Constellations Of Heaven
V. He Wishes His Beloved Were Dead
VI. He Wishes For The Cloths Of Heaven

Commissioned by Susan and Elihu Rose

Dedicated to Robert White

First performed on February 17th, 1993 at Alice Tully Hall in NYC by Robert White, tenor; James Galway, flute; Brian Zeger, piano; and the Lark Quartet