Concerto for Cello and Orchestra Op.132 (2017) c.26'00"

(2d1.2d1.2.2/ d cel/hp/solo vc/strings)

Commissioned by a consortium of orchestras including the Toledo Symphony, the Springfield Symphony Orchestra (MA), the Annapolis Symphony, the Jackson Symphony, the Jacksonville Symphony and the Springfield Symphony Orchestra (OH)

Dedicated to Alan Benaroya

First performed on October 27th 2017 at the Peristyle Theater, Toledo Ohio by cellist Julian Schwarz with the Toledo Symphony Orchestra conducted by Alexander Prior

Published by Theodore Presser Company


“However, the highlight of the evening was yet to come…Stunning in lyricism and originality, this gorgeous and profound creation stands as a shining example of how contemporary compositions need not be thorny and inaccessible.”
The Florida Times-Union

“simply beautiful…The orchestrations are richly complex, replete with color, and underlay the solo role of the cello perfectly: balanced, tasteful and resilient.”
The Toledo Blade